Seafood Party in a Pan


Paella! You all just conjured up a picture in your mind of streamers coming down upon a flat pan filled with yellow rice, shrimp, mussels, clams, scallops, something green like

 peas and scallions or parsley, something red like pimentos or chopped

Paella Familiar

Paella Familiar (Photo credit: ketutita)

 tomatoes. It’s so festive, it makes you relate to the word pinata. And for those that like big parties, you’re envisioning some chorizo and chicken in there too!

I’ve heard that, “You can’t get good paella in Spain or Portugal,” but as it is with any other foreign dishes in America, we’re used to the American version and expect exactly that. The Valencian dish is traditionally made with snails and rabbit and beans and definitely not with boxed yellow rice. It looks more like this:  

It’s not the blast of color you had before your eyes a few seconds ago. This looks like a party without music and dancing, but I bet it’s delicious once you get past your narrow-minded, bastardized definition of ‘paella’.

Throwing my Party

I decided to make paella at home, even though I don’t have a paella pan, and it was just dinner for two. I used a stainless steel pan and made sure I kept scraping the bits off the bottom to get that same crunchiness. I discarded any recipes that called for “yellow rice”. Every box of yellow rice in the supermarket contains MSG..no thanks. I achieved a (paler) yellow color by using the saffron threads and the chorizo, which contains smoked paprika.

The result was my own private party in a pan. I did a little dance before I sat down and let my stomach celebrate.

The following week, I felt like collaborating with my seafood friends in a pot this time, since they all got along so well in the paella. I discovered a “muddle”; this party was almost criminal — to be continued in the next post………

One response to this post.

  1. Sounds like you did it perfect. Thanks for the reminder that I need to get out my paella pan and make this soon.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

